Traffic safety is a primary concern in Wayzata. Obey the speed limit. The posted speed limit on a roadway is the maximum speed you can drive. In hazardous conditions, such as rain or snow, even the posted speed limit may be too fast.
Stop for Pedestrians in the Crosswalks. Pedestrian safety is a 2-way street. Both drivers and walkers need to do their part to keep roads safe.
Motor vehicles and bicyclists must yield to pedestrians who are in crosswalks. A violation also comes with a $178 fine. Pedestrians bear the responsibility of making sure that it is safe to step off of the curb in front of a moving vehicle, whether it's a motor vehicle or a bike. This might include making eye contact with the driver. Just stepping in front of a moving vehicle does not absolve the pedestrian of responsibility.
Share the Road
Bicyclists can only ride single-file or in pairs (side by side). They must follow all of the same traffic laws as motor vehicles to include stopping for all stop signs.
We get complaints from each group every year. It is up to all to be responsible, respectful, and obey the respective laws. Please share the roads and enjoy all that our area has to offer.
Cell phones impair your ability to concentrate on driving. Crashes are typically the result of distracted driving. According to the Department of Public Safety, each year in Minnesota distracted or inattentive driving is a factor in 1 in 4 crashes, resulting in at least 70 deaths and 350 serious injuries. Even a hands-free system takes your concentration away from road. Make it a practice not to talk on your cell phone while driving.
Cell Phone Laws
- It's illegal for drivers of all ages to compose, read, or send text messages or access the Internet while the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.
The Minnesota State Statute, chapters 171.05 and Statute: 171.055 Subdivision 2(a), 169.475 states: Cell Phone Use. Provisional license holders and instruction permit holders who are under age 18 will be restricted from using a cell phone as drivers while the vehicle is in motion on and after January 1, 2006. Convictions for violating the cell phone statutes will be considered moving violations on a person's driving record.
The Wayzata Police Department advises that although this law applies to teen drivers, all motorists should make efforts to curb cell phone use and other driving distractions.
New Seat Belt Law
In 2009, the state legislature adopted a new seat belt law that permits officers to pull you over for not wearing a seat belt. Previously, you had to be pulled over for a different violation, such as speeding, but could then be tagged for the seat belt violation. There was also new legislation about child safety seats. Visit the Office of Traffic Safety website for more information. Some additional resources available are as follows:
In Minnesota, teen drivers are over-represented in traffic crashes each year due to driver inexperience, distractions, nighttime driving, speeding and not using seat belts. State lawmakers have passed several laws to help minimize the risks of injury or death to teens driving our roadways.
If you are a parent of a teen driver, please review the brochures below which focus on laws related to teen driving -- and please share the information with your teen:
Teen Driver Laws
Nighttime Driving Limitations
For the first 6 months of licensure: Driving is prohibited from midnight to 5 a.m.
- Driving when accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older
- Driving between home and place of employment
- Driving to/from home and a school event for which the school has not provided transportation
- Driving for employment purposes
The nighttime limitation is lifted after the first 6 months of licensure.
For the first 6 months of licensure only 1 passenger under the age of 20 is permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
For the second 6 months of licensure, no more than 3 passengers under the age of 20 are permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
- Passengers under age 20 who are members of the driver's immediate family are permitted
More information about teen driving can be found at the Department of Public Safety website.